MV5BMTg2MTQ0MDIxNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODM5NTg2NTE@__V1_SY317_CR5,0,214,317_AL_What would you do if you were a man who seemingly has it all?  Beautiful, tall, slim and glamorous wife who is hard-working, a gorgeous home and adorable little son but you begin to suspect that your wife is cheating with her co-worker?  The sex between yourselves has gone a little bit stale, she’s working more hours than normal and seems distant and cold.  You go to parties together but she brushes you off to talk to a very fit and handsome co-worker.  Their body language is explosive.  You’d begin to have your doubts that something isn’t right wouldn’t you?

That’s exactly what happens to Film Archivist David and at the time that he discovers that his beautiful home has history.  History from 1902 when a brutal murder was committed.  Rather than confront his wife he decides that he needs evidence and unfortunately he gains evidence in raw sexual evidence as he follows his wife along a canal. I’m not going to lie – the sexual scene was pretty intense. And David has to stand and witness it against the knowledge of his wife.

Enough to send any man into a state of psychological terror.  Especially when on that evening his wife goes missing and he becomes prime suspect in her disappearance.  Surely if anybody discovers what he has witnessed then he won’t just become prime suspect then he becomes the prime accused.

The film follows David as he tries to gain evidence to prove his innocence and to show that the ghostly beings from 1902 are in force in his home and that he didn’t commit the murder but an evil spirit did.  A recipe for madness from a prime suspect maybe?

The film is gripping from the outset.  As we the viewer try to piece together whether David himself was responsible or whether the ghostly existence is in play and history is indeed repeating itself.

You may remember that I reviewed ‘The Visit’ a couple of weeks ago.  ‘The Visit’ was a black comedy.  ‘The Canal’ I can confirm is just black.  There are so many moments when I had to get up from the settee and walk into the kitchen to then go back into the living room.

I indeed had my Karma from laughing at the two burley men in the cinema who jumped and shouted “oh shit” when at one moment I was sat on all fours with my back to the tv saying “is this bit over yet?” to turn around at the wrong moment (it had the doom type music and it lasted an age) and jumped out of my skin.  Then during another moment to actually jump so much that my coffee mug nearly jumped out of my hand, I banged my front teeth and spilt hot coffee all over myself.

But it’s a good film.  I was genuinely engaged throughout and was wondering all of the way through what would happen next.  I sat there hoping for a happy ending and though I’m not going to give the ending away.  All I will say is that the ending is disturbing and doesn’t end well.  There is no happy ending.

The film stuck with me and the night after I watched it, it had clearly stuck in my mind as I couldn’t sleep so had to go downstairs and have all of the lights on.  It was awesome in the sense that I actually got some housework done at 11.30pm!!!

I’m still trying to understand why with the strong bloody violence, injury detail, horror and sex within the film – that it was only rated a 15.  Marvellous DVD, it was bought from Asda and I would highly rate for all of those that like watching a scary movie to give this a try.

I’m certainly enjoying working out all of the different formats and formulas that horror/psychological thrillers work on the emotions.

I’ve managed to get hold of a copy of ‘The Haunting Of Borden House’ It’s an 18 – how I’m going to get through this one I’ll never know but I’ll keep you updated.

One thing is for sure – I will be staying away from drinking coffee!!!

