In the town that I live we have a local fruit and veg delivery service.  The couple who run it are lovely.  They offer fruit and veg boxes for £10 each.  I like to order the boxes because each week I get something new.

IMG_0775

My children enjoy fruit so it is quite easy for it to be eaten.  Storing it in the fridge means that it lasts longer.  Not bananas in the fridge of course, they stay in a fruit bowl.  As the week goes on, we pop the fruit in smoothies or use the fruit in baking cakes.  My ten year old daughter made a Banana cake this week.  All by herself (that’s a future blog, baking with children).

The veg box means that we are gaining extra nutrients as I start thinking how I’m going to use all of the veg up.  As you can see from previous blogs, I’m very into making mince dinners.  Cottage Pie, Lasagne, Spaghetti Bolognaise or Chilli Con Carne.  Easy to throw together and easy to eat.  I love one pot/dish recipes.

The added benefit of the veg box is that I don’t know what vegetables I’m going to get.  I often find myself with vegetables that I perhaps wouldn’t buy from the supermarket myself.  But because I’ve paid for the box I am obliged to use the vegetables up and my children are encouraged to try something new.

This week we had a marrow and beetroot.  Vegetables that I’ve never cooked before.

Believe it or not a marrow actually contains very little vitamins or minerals compared to many other types of vegetable, so it is not a vegetable that I will particularly rush out to buy again.  It is mainly water-based so it is very good for people who are on low-calorie diets.  My children have never tried marrow so for me the perfect choice was to disguise the vegetable into a bolognaise.

Marrow Bolognaise:

1 Marrow

2/3 carrots

750g Mince

1 Onion

1 Glass of red wine

1 Tin of chopped tomatoes

1 dessert spoon of tomato puree

1 dessert spoon of mixed herbs

Method:

Slice the marrow into thick slices (about one and a half inches thick), then scoop the seeds out of the centre.

Peel the skin from the slices and then chop into one inch pieces.

Line the marrow into a roasting dish.

Chop the onion and fry for five minutes before adding the peeled and chopped carrots.

Add the mince and fry until browned.

Add the tin of chopped tomatoes and stir.

Add the tomato puree and stir.

Add the glass of red wine and mixed herbs.

Pour the mixture over the marrow mixture.

I then put a sheet of foil over the top of the roasting tin and placed in the oven.  Gas mark 6.

Isn’t it funny how it is mostly Gas mark 6 when cooking?

I left for one hour and then served.

IMG_0781

It was very tasty and it was an excellent way of serving a new vegetable to myself and the children.

I’m having another Fruit and Veg box delivered tomorrow.  For me they are like receiving a hamper at Christmas. Full of goodies and surprises.

