FullSizeRender (6)Charity work fashions for just over a tenner…

It’s Monday morning… My intention of being organised goes right out of the window.

Every week I tell myself that I will be super organised.  The kids will have ironed uniform, lunch boxes will be on the table and they will be perfectly groomed for school.

The reality…

Every Monday morning is the same…

I’ve spent the weekend taking them out to a nearby town, the library or walking around a stately home, then yes on Saturday evening I was drinking a few large glasses of wine.  In the bigger scheme of things it is more valuable – even the wine.  But if only I could get the ironing pile up straight I wouldn’t face every Monday morning last minute ironing.

Which means I end up spending only 10 minutes getting ready for work and I’m front facing at work.  It’s my job to look reasonably smart and tidy.  Appearances matter don’t they?  Well in a work environment they do.  So I’m a single mum and I’m on a tight budget.  I’m certainly not going to let that hold me back. So we’re back to charity shop fashions:

Dress £7.99 I bought it a couple of years ago from a charity shop.  Originally it was from thirty three boutique and I have to say, it looked barely worn when I bought it and I’ve worn it many times.  Charity shops really shouldn’t be dismissed.  Plus the money you are spending is going to CHARITY which is wonderful in itself.  My handbag was just £3 bought recently from another, it looked new.

I was having a conversation with a lady in a shop, she said to me that she wished that when she was younger that they had so many charity shops to save her some money with her clothing allowance and how it would have made her life a bit easier. Apparently shopping in charity shops is what all of the millionaires do these days.  Possibly why they became millionaires in the first place.  Shopping savvy.

I adore my charity shop finds and challenges.  The next time you have chance, have a peek in.  You might find the ultimate buy.

Back to Monday mornings. If only I could work my Monday morning routines as efficiently as I run my household budget.  Does it really get any easier as the children get older?  It’s just a juggle of different demands…

ps excuse the awkward picture… I had 5 seconds to pose before we launched into the car…

