be-free-dreams-happy-potography-smile-Favim_com-348219What is your passion in life?  What is it that makes you want to wake up and feel productive?  For a very few lucky people they have this in their day job and there is a saying that if you love your job then you won’t have to work a day in your life.  You won’t class going to work as a job. You will find it fun because it is something that you enjoy and it doesn’t feel tedious.

I had a conversation with a lady recently.  We were both sat in a little café.  We were discussing the dreams that we may have had as a child.  Dreams that you are allowed to have as a child and dreams that are accepted – as childhood is only once.  Imaginations should be running riot. Should be.  But when is the cut off point?  It seems to me that the cut off is once you have finished school and you enter the big wide world.  You go from having lots of organised lessons and learning lots of exciting subjects – to one long tedious job (for many).

As a child I dreamt of becoming many things.  A Hairdresser, a Sweet-shop owner, a Politician (I don’t quite get this one, I had no real interest in Politics until five years ago, now I absolutely adore it), a great Business Owner, a Teacher, a Social Worker, to own an orphanage… a Writer. Looking back most of those dreams were childhood fantasy, game play – imaginations should be running wild. I outgrew most of them, except one dream which stayed with me and is instilled in me.

However, it made me think back to the conversation that I had with the lady.  She said that she too had many dreams but then life has taken over and her dreams have faded and indeed she can’t remember what her dreams were. She felt jaded and had clearly lost her sparkle.  Lost her passion for what made her happy. In fact at the moment she can’t find it.

The humdrum of life does this to people.

It saps you of everything you’ve got and steals your happiness. But you can change it with little steps.

I know an older person whose ambition is to be an actor.  He works his day job but  has put himself out there, has an agent, is part of a local dramatic group and has had work as an extra in film roles, adverts and indeed a pop video.  I’m sure that his ultimate aim is to be a well-known actor but at present he is doing something he loves to be part of the bigger picture and work his way up to his goal.  He has taken his passion seriously enough to do something about it and developed enough resilience to take the ‘knocks’ that go with it.

There are many things that you can do in small steps to chase your dream:

  1. Carve out enough time for yourself – it may mean saying no to other obligations. Carving out time does not mean that you need entire weeks but it does mean that you can free up a few evenings or spare hours here and there.
  2. Prioritise – do you need to be cleaning the kitchen cupboard or should you be spending time on your goal?
  3. Avoid drama (unless you want to act) – too many times people embroil us in their problems that they have no intention of solving. Sometimes you become too wrapped up and exhausted sorting their problems that you neglect yourself.  It is time to explain that though you care for that person that you simply can not keep being weighed down.
  4. Remember that life is about moving forward.  Going backwards does not solve anything. You deserve to be happy.
  5. Find a group – if your passion is art, join an art group.
  6. Network – in the days of internet, networking has never been so easy. The easiest way to learn is from other people.
  7. Take up a course – whether it’s recreational or professional, learning is learning, no learning is ever wasted and you might be surprised where it leads.

The dream of mine was to write.  So I bought notebooks, researched, have taken up courses, put the hours in to learn my craft, set up a writing group, started to blog (of which I had to self learn from scratch) and written two Nanowrimo novels.  But these projects have taken time.  It has all been little steps with plenty of knock backs on the way.  The courses are currently standing me in good stead and so is the Nanowrimo experience. Writing 50,000 words in a month was certainly a challenge – but the experience has helped me with my current project. I always said that I wouldn’t embark on another Nanowrimo as I believe that I’ve developed enough discipline without it. But who knows? I quite like the buzz upon achieving the certificate and I have so many more tales in the pipeline.   And those experiences from Nanowrimo have given me that discipline. Any learning towards your dream which is the bigger picture is important.

NaNoWriMo-2014-Winner-Certificate-page-001

Ask yourself? Are you chasing your dream? Are you standing still? Are you totally bored? What can you do to change it?

I would be interested in hearing from people who may have achieved something towards their dream.  Or are indeed lucky enough to actually live it.

